Transformers: Product Families
A transformer changes voltage between circuits using magnetic coupling. This group covers four kinds. Control power transformers step line voltage down to the lower level used in control circuits. Dry-type transformers are cooled by air rather than oil and are used indoors for distribution. Instrument transformers reduce high currents and voltages to small values that meters and relays can read. Pad-mounted and substation transformers serve larger loads in outdoor and utility duty.
Nameplate data drives any match: kVA or VA, primary and secondary voltage, phases, frequency, impedance, insulation class and temperature rise. The families below list what the manufacturers publish for each.
39 product families from 10 manufacturers
Control Power Transformers
Hammond Power Solutions
HPS molded style control transformer (C2M)
Listed as current
Single-phase encapsulated industrial control transformer built for the high inrush of contactors and relays.
- Rated range
- 50-2000 VA; 19 standard voltage groups; UL/CSA listed
Hammond Power Solutions
HPS open style control transformer (C2G)
Listed as current
Single-phase open core-and-coil control transformer for panel builders and tight enclosures.
- Rated range
- 50-5000 VA; 13 standard voltage groups; UL/CSA listed
Hammond Power Solutions
HPS enclosed style control transformer (C2E)
Listed as current
Single-phase control transformer supplied in a Type 1 metal enclosure, aimed at lighter-duty loads.
- Rated range
- 50-5000 VA; 10 standard voltage groups; UL/CSA listed
Hammond Power Solutions
HPS Imperator (molded machine tool control transformer)
Legacy
Molded, machine-tool-duty control transformer for loads with high inrush such as relays, solenoids and motor starters.
- Rated range
- 50-1500 VA; 11 standard voltage groups; 600 V class; 50/60 Hz
Hammond Power Solutions
HPS Spartan (industrial open core and coil control transformer)
Open core-and-coil control transformer for general-purpose and light-duty industrial control loads.
- Rated range
- Ratings not stated
Schneider Electric (Square D)
Class 9070 Type T / Type TF industrial control transformers
Industrial control transformers; Type TF adds factory-mounted fuse blocks. Detailed in Square D catalog 9070CT9901.
- Rated range
- VA and voltage ratings not stated (page points to catalog 9070CT9901)
Acme Electric (Hubbell)
TB Series industrial control transformers
Encapsulated single-phase industrial control transformers; the sample shown has a 240x480 V primary / 120x240 V secondary configuration.
- Rated range
- Ratings not stated
Rockwell Automation (Allen-Bradley)
Bulletin 1497 global control transformers
Single-phase epoxy-encapsulated control circuit transformers with single, dual or multi-tap primaries and finger-safe terminals.
- Rated range
- 63-2000 VA; 50/60 Hz; UL 5085, CSA C22.2 No. 66.1, EN 61558
Rockwell Automation (Allen-Bradley)
Bulletin 1497B control power transformers
Single-phase 60 Hz control power transformers with epoxy-encapsulated terminals and optional primary/secondary fuse blocks.
- Rated range
- 50-3000 VA; 60 Hz; UL 5085, CSA C22.2 No. 66.1
Siemens
Class MT industrial control power transformers
Industrial control power transformer with enclosed coils, finger-safe terminals and secondary fuse clips, sized to hold secondary voltage under inrush.
- Rated range
- 50-5000 VA; 50/60 Hz; cUL and CSA
Siemens
Class MTG industrial control transformers
IEC-compliant version of the MT design (EN 61558, CE mark) for domestic and international use.
- Rated range
- 50-750 VA; IEC 742 / EN 61 558; UL listed
GE Vernova
Medium-voltage control power transformers
Vacuum-cast epoxy transformers for indoor use in medium-voltage switchgear, supplying control power.
- Rated range
- 5-34.5 kV class, 60-150 kV BIL; 5-75 kVA single-phase, 15-150 kVA three-phase
GE Vernova
Low-voltage control power transformers
Indoor 600 V-insulation transformers with 240 V secondary and 120 V center tap and fuse clips, for switchgear and motor control centers.
- Rated range
- 1-5 kVA; 50 and 60 Hz models
Dry-Type Transformers
Hammond Power Solutions
Sentinel G general purpose distribution transformers
Ventilated low-voltage dry-type transformers for lighting, heating and machine loads, 150 C rise with 220 C insulation; DOE 2016 / NRCan 2019 efficiency.
- Rated range
- Single-phase 15-333 kVA; three-phase 15-1000 kVA; 600 V and below
Acme Electric (Hubbell)
Encapsulated single-phase dry-type transformers
Encapsulated low-voltage single-phase dry-type units, UL 155 C insulation to 0.75 kVA and 180 C from 1 kVA.
- Rated range
- 0.25-25 kVA (a separate 0.05-0.150 kVA line also listed); 600 V class and below
Acme Electric (Hubbell)
Encapsulated three-phase dry-type transformers
Encapsulated low-voltage three-phase dry-type units, UL Class 180 C insulation, 115 C rise.
- Rated range
- 3-75 kVA; 600 V class and below
Acme Electric (Hubbell)
Ventilated dry-type distribution transformers (single- and three-phase)
Ventilated low-voltage distribution transformers, UL Class 220 C insulation, 150 C rise.
- Rated range
- Single-phase 37.5-250 kVA; three-phase 15-1000 kVA; 600 V class and below
Schneider Electric (Square D)
Power-Dry II (Class 7420) VPI dry-type small power transformers
Three-phase vacuum-pressure-impregnated dry-type transformers for commercial and industrial use; UL 220 C insulation system.
- Rated range
- 225-15,000 kVA; primary 600 V-35 kV; secondary 120 V-15 kV; 150 C rise standard
Schneider Electric (Square D)
Power-Cast II cast coil dry-type transformers
Cast-coil dry-type transformers for harsh environments, listed beside Power-Dry II on the Schneider dry-type page.
- Rated range
- Ratings not stated
Siemens Energy
GEAFOL cast-resin transformers (GEAFOL Neo, GEAFOL, GEAFOL Converter, CARECO)
Listed as current
Cast-resin dry-type distribution transformers insulated with epoxy resin and quartz powder, IEC 60076-11.
- Rated range
- GEAFOL Neo to 6.3 MVA / 40.5 kV; GEAFOL and Converter to 50 MVA / 52 kV
Siemens (Canada)
T-series commercial NRCan dry-type transformers
Ventilated Type 3R aluminium-wound commercial distribution transformers, 150 C rise, CSA and UL listed. Source is the Canadian power catalogue.
- Rated range
- Single-phase 15-250 kVA; three-phase 15-450 kVA; primary 480 or 600 V
Instrument Transformers
GE Vernova
SUPERBUTE current and voltage transformers
Listed as current
Epoxy-encapsulated instrument transformers with butyl rubber exterior, indoor/outdoor, distribution and station classes, IEEE C57.13.
- Rated range
- Up to 69 kV, up to 350 kV BIL; CT relay class up to T800
GE Vernova
JVW voltage transformers
Listed as current
IEEE outdoor utility-style medium-voltage voltage transformer, cycloaliphatic epoxy insulation.
- Rated range
- 110 kV BIL; 60 Hz
GE Vernova
JVM voltage transformers (JVM_C series)
Listed as current
IEEE indoor utility-style voltage transformers for switchgear; some models offer 0.15 accuracy class.
- Rated range
- Ratings not stated
GE Vernova
PT series indoor voltage transformers
Listed as current
IEEE indoor vacuum-cast polyurethane resin voltage transformers, UL recognized, CSA approved.
- Rated range
- BIL up to 200 kV
GE Vernova
GV series voltage transformers
Listed as current
IEC indoor cast-resin voltage transformers to IEC 60044-2.
- Rated range
- BIL up to 170 kV; 50/60 Hz
GE Vernova
IEEE 5-35 kV indoor current transformers and IEEE 600 V CT / PT / bushing CT
Listed as current
Medium-voltage indoor and 600 V-class current and potential transformers named on the GE Vernova LV/MV listing.
- Rated range
- 5-35 kV (medium voltage); 600 V (low voltage)
GE Vernova
OSKF / OTEF / OTCF / KOTEF high-voltage instrument transformers
Listed as current
High-voltage current, voltage, capacitor voltage and combined metering units.
- Rated range
- Portfolio up to 1,200 kV
Hitachi Energy
IMB / TG / LB current transformers
Listed as current
Oil- or gas-insulated high-voltage current transformers.
- Rated range
- IMB 36-800 kV; TG 72.5-800 kV; LB 30.5-330 kV
Hitachi Energy
POF / EMF-E inductive voltage transformers
Listed as current
Inductive voltage transformers.
- Rated range
- POF 48-123 kV; EMF-E 52-170 kV
Hitachi Energy
CPB / TYD capacitive voltage transformers
Listed as current
Capacitor voltage transformers for transmission voltages.
- Rated range
- CPB 72-800 kV; TYD 126-550 kV
Hitachi Energy
PA current transformer (PA72a, PA123a, PA145a)
Listed as current
Oil-filled, top-core current transformer, IEC 61869-2.
- Rated range
- 72.5, 123 and 145 kV; 50 or 60 Hz
Pad-Mounted Substation
Schneider Electric (Square D)
Padmount liquid-filled transformers
Listed as current
Liquid-filled pad-mounted transformers for underground distribution, mineral oil or less-flammable seed oil, IEEE standards.
- Rated range
- 75-20,000 kVA; primary 2.4-69 kV; secondary 600 V-25 kV
Schneider Electric (Square D)
Substation liquid-filled transformers
Listed as current
Liquid-filled transformers for unit substations; mineral oil, silicone oil or seed oil.
- Rated range
- 225-20,000 kVA; primary 2.4-69 kV; secondary 600 V-35 kV
Schneider Electric (Square D)
Medium-voltage unit substations
Listed as current
Prefabricated unit substations combining primary switching, a dry-type or liquid-filled transformer and secondary equipment.
- Rated range
- Primary up to 38 kV; secondary 5 kV class and below
Prolec GE
Three-phase pad-mounted transformers
Listed as current
Liquid-filled three-phase pad-mounted transformers with IEEE C57.12.34 / C57.12.28 cabinets.
- Rated range
- Up to 3,750 kVA ONAN standard (3,750-5,000 optional); HV up to 34.5 kV; LV up to 1,200 V
Prolec GE
Single-phase pad-mounted transformers
Listed as current
Single-phase pad-mounted distribution transformers, mineral oil or natural ester.
- Rated range
- 15-167 kVA; HV up to 34.5 kV 150 kV BIL; LV up to 480/240 V
Hitachi Energy
Pad-mounted distribution transformers
Listed as current
Liquid-filled pad-mounted transformers, mineral oil or ester, UL and FM listings.
- Rated range
- Single-phase to 250 kVA; three-phase 45-15,000 kVA; HV 5-46 kV
Siemens Energy
Pad-mounted fluid-immersed distribution transformers
Listed as current
Pad-mounted distribution transformers with ratings equivalent to pole-mounted units.
- Rated range
- Up to 2,500 kVA; primary up to 36 kV
Looking for a specific part?
Tell us the manufacturer, series and rating, or the part number, and ask for a quote. The entries on this page are a reference list, not a stock or price list.
Ratings and lifecycle notes come from the manufacturer pages linked on each entry.
Manufacturer and product names are trademarks of their respective owners and are used only to identify equipment.
