Disconnect Switches: Product Families
A disconnect switch isolates a circuit or a piece of equipment so that work can be done downstream. Fusible versions hold fuses and combine the switch with short-circuit protection. Non-fusible versions only open and close the circuit. Double-throw switches connect a load to one of two sources and are often used to change between a normal and an alternate supply by hand.
Safety switches are rated by voltage, continuous current, number of poles and enclosure type, and fusible types by the fuse class and size they accept. Designs change over the years, so buyers of surplus or replacement switches commonly ask by catalog series and ampere rating.
23 product families from 7 manufacturers
Fusible
Siemens
HF / HFC heavy-duty fusible safety switches (VBII)
Listed as current
Quick-make, quick-break heavy-duty fused disconnects with visible blades, 2 and 3 pole (HFC = Canadian CSA listing prefix).
- Rated range
- 30-1200A; 240V and 600V AC, some 250V DC; Type 1, 3R, 4/4X, 12
Siemens
GF / GFC general-duty fusible safety switches
Lighter-duty fused disconnect line; 240V in 2/3-pole up to 600A, plus a 600V 200A model.
- Rated range
- 100-600A at 240V; 200A at 600V (per Canadian catalogue)
ABB (GE Spec-Setter)
TG general-duty fusible (TG3xxx / TG4xxx)
GE-brand general-duty fused safety switch line now sold by ABB; NEMA 1 and 3R; 10 kA standard short-circuit rating, 100 kA with Class R fuses (30-200A).
- Rated range
- 30-600A, 240V AC / 250V DC
ABB (GE Spec-Setter)
TH heavy-duty fusible (TH33xx / TH43xx)
GE-brand heavy-duty fused safety switch; NEMA 1, 3R, 4/4X, 5/12; 200 kA short-circuit with Class R/J (30-600A) or L (800-1200A) fuses.
- Rated range
- 30-1200A, 600V AC / 600V DC max
Schneider Electric (Square D)
H-series heavy-duty fusible safety switches (H361, H364...)
Discontinued
Heavy-duty fused NEMA 1 safety switch; the 30A H361 and 200A H364 were discontinued and replaced by the VisiPacT VH line.
- Rated range
- 30 A / 200 A examples; 600 V AC/DC
Schneider Electric (Square D)
VH VisiPacT heavy-duty fused safety switches (VH363, VH364...)
Listed as current
Heavy-duty fused switch with a viewing window for visual blade confirmation; NEMA 1 and 3R variants exist.
- Rated range
- 100 A and 200 A examples; 600 V, 3-pole
Schneider Electric (Square D)
D-series general-duty fusible safety switches (e.g. D321N)
Listed as current
General-duty fused switch for residential and light-commercial use, with quick-make, quick-break mechanism.
- Rated range
- 30A/240VAC 3-pole 4-wire with neutral example; Type 1
Hubbell (Wiring Device-Kellems)
FDS fused disconnect switches
Non-metallic (Valox) fused 3-pole disconnect with Class J fuses; small ratings, not a large NEMA safety-switch line.
- Rated range
- FDS60: 60A, 600V AC; Type 4X and 12
Rockwell Automation (Allen-Bradley)
194R fused rotary disconnect switches
Listed as current
Rotary disconnect line with integral fuse carriers, UL 98 / UL 508 and IEC 60947-3; thermoplastic, painted metal or stainless enclosures.
- Rated range
- UL 30-1200A; IEC 20-1250A
Non-Fusible
Siemens
HNF / HNFC heavy-duty non-fusible safety switches (VBII)
Listed as current
Heavy-duty unfused disconnect, 2 and 3 pole, with Type 1, 3R, 4/4X and 12 enclosures.
- Rated range
- 30-1200A; 480V/600V AC and 250V or 600V DC (per Canadian catalogue)
Siemens
GNF / GNFC general-duty non-fusible safety switch
General-duty unfused disconnect; 600V 200A model listed.
- Rated range
- 200A, 600V (GNFC364)
ABB (GE Spec-Setter)
TGN general-duty non-fusible (TGN33xx)
GE-brand general-duty unfused safety switch, 3-pole 3-wire, NEMA 1 and 3R (30-200A in 3R).
- Rated range
- 30-600A, 240V AC / 250V DC
ABB (GE Spec-Setter)
THN heavy-duty non-fusible
GE-brand heavy-duty unfused safety switch; NEMA 1, 3R, 4/4X, 5/12; 800-1200A use the C nomenclature.
- Rated range
- 30-1200A, 600V AC / 600V DC max
Schneider Electric (Square D)
VHU VisiPacT heavy-duty unfused safety switches
Listed as current
Heavy-duty unfused switch with viewing window, NEMA 1.
- Rated range
- 100A example (VHU363): 600V, 3-pole
Schneider Electric
TeSys LK4 non-fusible disconnect switches
Listed as current
Non-fusible load-break disconnect line in compact or standard size, for safety isolation.
- Rated range
- 30-1200A; voltage not stated on page
Rockwell Automation (Allen-Bradley)
194R non-fused rotary disconnect switches
Listed as current
Non-fused variant of the 194R rotary line, fits user-supplied fuse blocks.
- Rated range
- UL 30-1200A; IEC 20-1250A
S&C Electric
Alduti-Rupter interrupter switches (outdoor distribution)
Listed as current
Medium-voltage, no-external-arc interrupter switch for line, transformer and cable switching; not a low-voltage safety switch.
- Rated range
- 600-2400A continuous, 1600A interrupting, up to 69 kV
S&C Electric
Omni-Rupter switches
Listed as current
Medium-voltage overhead feeder sectionalizing switch.
- Rated range
- 630-900A continuous, 14.4-34.5 kV
S&C Electric
Mini-Rupter switches
Listed as current
Three-pole underground-distribution interrupter switch, pad-mount friendly frames.
- Rated range
- 600A continuous, 400 or 600A interrupting, 4.16-27.6 kV
Double-Throw
Siemens
DTFC / DTNFC double-throw switches (VBII)
Listed as current
Interlocked two-source transfer switch for normal/alternate supply or one source to two loads; cover interlock, lockable OFF.
- Rated range
- Fusible 30-200A at 240V and 600V; non-fusible 30-600A, 2 and 3 pole; Type 1 and 3R; 200 kA with R/J/T fuses (per Canadian catalogue)
ABB (GE Spec-Setter)
TDT (fusible) and TC (non-fusible) double-throw switches
GE-brand two-source safety switch with three-position ON-OFF-ON handle; UL 98 and service-equipment suitable.
- Rated range
- 30-1200A, 600V AC / 250V DC; NEMA 1, 3R, 4X
Schneider Electric (Square D)
DT / DTU double-throw safety switches (e.g. DTU363)
Double-throw switches for standby-power connection under NEC Article 702; non-fusible DTU363 example.
- Rated range
- DTU363: 100A, 3-pole, 600V AC/DC, Type 1
Schneider Electric (Square D)
Double Throw Safety Switches range page
Listed as current
Range overview: routine isolation, emergency interruption, standby power connection, switching two loads between sources.
- Rated range
- Ratings not stated
Looking for a specific part?
Tell us the manufacturer, series and rating, or the part number, and ask for a quote. The entries on this page are a reference list, not a stock or price list.
Ratings and lifecycle notes come from the manufacturer pages linked on each entry.
Manufacturer and product names are trademarks of their respective owners and are used only to identify equipment.
